Sensor recommendations

For general purpose scanning we recommend the Intel RealSense D415. It offers a good balance between the quality and the resolution of the depth and color images. In a multi-sensor setup there is no interference between the cameras which also makes it well suited for RecFusion Pro.

Orbbec Astra Mini S is another good choice, which however is good only for a single-sensor scanning due to the interference between different cameras.

In case of small object scanning, our recommendation is the Intel RealSense SR300/SR305. It provides depth measurements in as close as 30 cm to the camera, and is therefore good for capturing small details. Please be aware that it does have problems capturing very dark objects.

When the texture resolution is the priority, the best option would be the Kinect Azure, since it has 4K color image resolution.

First it’s great your product works with restrictions so I’ve been able to test sensors.
I’m a hobbyist so I’m probably not your target customer but I was very disappointed in the Intel RealSense SR305 as it can’t see black and a lot of items have black surfaces. I was also disappointed in the images I created from it.
If I bought a Kinect Azure would it be capable of scanning items the size of a coffee cup do you have any sample mesh files?
I’m going to say the elephant in the room, would Photogrammetry give better results at a time processing cost?

Hello David.

We would not recommend Kinect for such small objects as a coffee cup. In general, all the sensors that we support, should ideally be used to scan objects of 15-20cm and larger. Smaller objects would end up with a poor quality.