Low resolution reconstruction

Trying to scan small objects. I get a good scan but the resolution is poor.
I am new to RecFusion, wondered whether evaluation version is limiting the reconstructed model in the view screen. I thought maybe after I cropped out the other objects on the platform that I don’t want in the end model the software might be able to reconstruct a more detailed final model?

There is a “Continue reconstruction” button at the bottom of the tools sidebar, but it does not do anything in the Evaluation version, and the online User Guide does not even mention it.

Is the initial reconstruction from the scan as high of resolution as it will get?
Do the number of voxels define how fine resolution the end model is?

RecFusion 1.8.6, evaluation mode
Intel RealSense 415
high speed USB data cable
scanning at 1280x720 30fps
using Custom configuration

Hello,

the evaluation version does not have any limitations on the resolution of the reconstructed mesh. “Continue reconstruction”, however is disabled in the evaluation mode. In the licensed version it enables you to continue the reconstruction from the place where you stopped, it doesn’t influence the resolution of the scanned object.

In order to increase the resolution of the final model, you need to make the reconstruction volume as small as possible (so that it would contain only the object that you are scanning), and you need to increase the number of voxels - the higher the number of voxels is, the finer your final resolution will be. There is no way to increase the level of detail in the scanned object after the reconstruction has finished.

Best regards,
Olga

Thank you Olga.